Swimsafer was initiated by National Water Safety Council in 2010 to ensure learner have a proper swimming proficiency and water safety.

There are 6 stages altogether in swimsafer program. Widely seen in most MOE schools swimming program, many had gained and benefited from this swimsafer program. Some of the swimsafer stage 6 (Gold) students were already in the Singapore Swimming Proficiency Awards program where competitive strokes were taught.

Swimsafer is a 6 stages swimming program. It is the roadmap toward the stroke development as well as understanding on water safety.

Swimsafer Stage 1- Introduction to Water Skills
The objective is develop confidence and independence in the water, learn general and deep-end water safety. Techniques taught include the forward and backward movement, safe entry and exit and personal water safety.
Swimsafer Stage 2- Fundamental Water Skills
General skill development including unassisted step entry into water, sculling, feet first surface dives, personal water safety skills as well as water safety in aquatic environments. Goal is to achieve 25 metres of continuous swimming.
Swimsafer Stage 3- Personal & Stroke Development Skills
Principles of personal survival as well as basic rescue skills are taught. Skills include sculling, underwater skills and the use of personal flotation device. Goal is to achieve 50m of continuous swimming.
Swimsafer Stage 4 (BRONZE) - Personal Survival & Stroke Improvement Skills
Development of child’s stroke techniques is a focus here, along with coordinated breathing in deep water while swimming 100 metres. Principles of water craft safety will be introduced as well as continual work on rescue and personal survival skills.
Swimsafer Stage 5 (SILVER) - Intermediate Personal Survival & Stroke Refinement Skills
Fundamentals of diving will be introduced. Development of rescue skills and personal survival knowledge will also continue at more advanced levels. Children will be required to demonstrate efficient stroke techniques where each 50 meters swim timing will be introduce at this stage for Freestyle, Breaststroke, Backstroke.
Swimsafer Stage 6 (GOLD) - Advance Personal Survival & Swimming Skill Proficiency
Children will be required to perform strokes with greater ease and swim proficiency. Swim timing is required for 100m each for Freestyle, Backstroke, Breaststroke. Rescue skills and water safety knowledge will be taught to focus on lifesaving readiness as well as Standing dive and personal safety skills.
Call Now Button
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons